Project Statuses

The Project Status is the state at any given moment of Project progress with particular rules and restrictions for editing project data. This article will help you to learn about the project statuses, status flow, rules, and restrictions to edit project details in various statuses.    Now you can learn how and under which rules the Project manager or the Project owner can change the Project status and the Task status.   

Project status: Draft

As soon as you select New Project +  button and the new project card appears by default, the In Progress status will be granted. If you need to create a draft project, you can change it to Draft. As long as your Project is in Draft status, you can:

 

  • create new Tasks with Draft status only
  • edit tasks in Project App except for their status
  • add/edit  Start/End  date
  • set Tasks type
  • set Tasks priority 
  • assign Human resources to the Project and project tasks
  • assign Material resources to the Project and project tasks
  • plan Effort for resources
  • add/edit Task description 
  • add/edit comments to the Task
  • add/edit files to the Project and project tasks

 

In Draft status, you can not:

  • show Tasks to your team members and assignees
  • add time to the task
  • change work completed progress

 

As soon as Project is created with In Progress status or started and gets In Progress status, you can no longer switch project back Draft.

Project status: In Progress

For the project to start, you need to change the status from the Draft to In Progress. If a project with the status In Progress is created, it has already started. In this case, all statuses will be changed from Draft to Requested.

 

In Progress Project status allows you to:

 

  • create new tasks with Requested status
  • edit tasks in Project App, including their status
  • add/edit  Start/End  date
  • set Tasks type
  • set Tasks priority 
  • assign Human resources to the Project and project tasks
  • assign Material resources to the Project and project tasks
  • add/edit Task description 
  • add/edit comments to the Task
  • add/edit files to the Project and project tasks
  • add tracking time to the Task progress bar
  • show tasks to your team members and assignees

 

Every assignee can add time or complete assignment, and the Task status changes to In Progress automatically. You can also stert task manually, and change Task status from Requested to In Progress. As soon as all assignees complete their assignments, the Task status will automatically be changed to the Completed status.

Task statuses in Project with In Progress status

  • The newly created task has Requested status. 

 

  • If one assignee adds time to the task, the Task status changes to the In Progress.

 

  • The Project manager or Project owner can change Task status from Requested to In Progress manually. 

 

  • The Project manager or Project owner can manually change Task status from  In Progress to Completed.  In this case, all assignments will be automatically granted  Completed status. 

 

  • The Project manager or Project owner can manually change Task status from  Completed to In Progress. In this case, all assignments will be automatically granted In Progress status. 

 

  • The Project manager or Project owner can back Task status from Completed to Requested if none of the assignees enabled time tracking only, that is, did not start their assignments. In this case, the Task status remains Canceled. An error message will appear with the cause of the error.

 

  • The Project manager or Project owner can back Task status from Canceled to In Progress. In this case, all the assignment statuses return to the statuses before the Canceled status is assigned.

 

  • When all assignments of the task are completed, the Task status changes to the Completed status automatically. If one of the assignees completed his assignment, the Task status remains unchanged. The assignee can back status from Completed to In Progress until all other assignees carry out their assignments. 

Project status Completed

In Completed status, your project considering as fully completed, and you can not add any changes. All Task statuses changed to Completed and became uneditable. They are visible to the team members. Tracking Time cannot be added.

 

In Completed status, you can:

  • Change Project status from Completed to In Progress manually. In this case, all tasks remain Completed status, despite that Project status is changed to In Progress. The Task status can be changed manually by the Project manager or Project owner
  • Change status from Completed to Archived 

Project status: Canceled

In Canceled status, your project considering as fully canceled, and you can not add any changes. All Task statuses changed to Cancelled and became uneditable. They are not visible to the team members. Tracking Time cannot be added.

 

When your project has a Cancelled status, you can:

  • change Project status from Canceled to In Progress manually. In that case, all tasks statuses return to the status that was before cancellation.
  • change Project status from Cancelled to Completed manually
  • change Project status from Cancelled to Archived manually

Project status: Archived

You can change your Completed or Cancelled project status to  Archived. It is an irreversible process. A popup warning window will appear to avoid an error.

 

All tasks of the Archived project turn into Archived status. You can not edit Tasks, Project, Time, Resources, Files, and progress. The Archived status can not be changed. 

 

As soon as Project status is changed to the Archived status, you can not back to any other statuses.

facebook linkedin twitter