Workflow Definition (v10.xx)

Workflow Definition (v10.xx)


To begin, it is necessary to create a workflow definition to specify the type of workflow being created, e.g., Contract.
  1. Navigate to the [Setup & Administration] module of the 'Projects' database, [Setup] tab.
  2. Select «Workflow» from the «Setup» view.




  1. Click «New workflow» on the action menu bar.


  1. A new "Workflow settings – Definition" document will open.




Fields

Use

Name

The name of the workflow. e.g., Contract.

Default status

The default status upon creation of each new document following this workflow. Documents are considered as actively passing through the workflow cycle as soon as a default status is set, meaning the transition is automatic when the status is defined in the setup.

  1. Only one default status can exist per workflow.
  2. It is not required to specify a default status.
  3. The 'Workflow - Status' setup documents must be defined in advance to select a status.

Initial status

If no default status is defined, an initial status can be set up. Users will then manually set the workflow status when they are ready. Once a document is placed in the initial status, it is considered actively passing through the workflow cycle.
  1. Only one initial status can be available per workflow.
  2. If there is no default status exists, the initial status will begin the workflow.

  3. The 'Workflow - Status' setup documents must be defined beforehand.
  4. If both default and initial statuses are defined, the default status overrides the initial status.

Project leaders/managers


When checked, project leaders will have administrative workflow rights for all documents following this workflow for their projects.
They will see the administrator menu, allowing them to change a document’s status (e.g., changing to any status, regardless of the current status).

Comment Free text field for any necessary comments about the workflow.



Complete the form, but note that the default and/or initial statuses can only be defined once the workflow’s statuses are defined (see below).
Save and close the document.