Project Permissions

Permissions are attributed to define the access to projects, tasks and files; as well as the level of participation a team member is authorized to. Users can only search tasks, projects and files that they have permission to view.

Learn about the different rights of project owners, leaders, contributors, observers and guests.

Note that all permission types are project-specific, not system-wide.

Project Owner

Automatically assigned to the person creating a project. The Owner has the highest permissions role.

With this permission type a user can:

  • Share the project

  • Archive the project

  • Delete the project

  • Edit project detail

  • Export project detail

  • Add/Remove team members

  • Edit team member roles

  • Add/Remove/Download project files

  • Create tasks

  • View all tasks

  • Edit all tasks

  • Add comments to all tasks

  • Add/Remove/Download files in all tasks

  • Assign all tasks

  • Remove assignees from all tasks

  • Mark tasks as completed/uncompleted

  • Delete tasks

  • View projects, tasks and files in trash

  • Restore projects, tasks and files from trash

Project Leader

Have broad permissions and editing rights including editing within the project. In Task App, this permission type will only permit the user to see the tasks within the project that are assigned to them. To see all project tasks, they must go to the project in Project App.

With this permission type a user can:

  • Download project files

  • Export project detail

  • Create tasks

  • View all tasks

  • Edit only tasks they created or that were assigned to them

  • Add comments to tasks

  • Add/Remove files only to tasks they created or that were assigned to them

  • Download files from tasks

  • Assign only the tasks they created or that were assigned to them

  • Remove assignees only from tasks they created

  • Mark only tasks they created or that were assigned to them as completed/uncompleted

  • Delete only the tasks they created

  • View only the tasks and files they created in trash

  • Restore only the tasks and files they created from trash

Project Contributor

Have more restricted participative role including creation rights. In Task App, this permission type will only permit the user to see the tasks within the project that are assigned to them. To see all project tasks, they must go to the project in Project App.

With this permission type a user can:

  • Download project files

  • Export project detail

  • Create tasks

  • View all tasks

  • Edit only tasks they created

  • Add comments to tasks

  • Add/Remove files only to tasks they created

  • Download files from tasks

  • Assign only the tasks they created

  • Remove assignees only from tasks they created

  • Mark only tasks they created as completed/uncompleted

  • Delete only the tasks they created

  • View only the tasks and files they created in trash

  • Restore only the tasks and files they created from trash

Project Observer

Have restricted permissions limited to viewing project data and completing tasks. In Task App, this permission type will only permit the user to see the tasks within the project that are assigned to them. To see all project tasks, they must go to the project in Project App.

With this permission type a user can:

  • Download project files

  • Export project detail

  • View all tasks

  • Edit only tasks that were assigned to them

  • Add comments to tasks

  • Add/Remove files only to tasks that were assigned to them

  • Download files from tasks

  • Assign only the tasks that were assigned to them

  • Mark only tasks that were assigned to them as completed/uncompleted

Project Guest

Guests strictly have access to the task(s) they were assigned to within a project. They cannot see or access any other project tasks or project information. They are responsible for the task(s) they were assigned without being a project team member.

With this permission type a user can:

  • View/Edit only tasks that were assigned to them

  • Add comments only to tasks that were assigned to them

  • Add/Remove files only to tasks that were assigned to them

  • Download files only from tasks that were assigned to them

  • Mark only tasks that were assigned to them as completed/uncompleted

facebook linkedin twitter